Boobie Juice Smoothie

FullSizeRender (3)I mentioned a few days ago that I had a milk supply scare.  Most women would assess the situation and likely realize their milk just needed to catch up with a higher demand. I am not most women, and I immediately concerned myself with mental images of my child shriveling up along with the food meant to keep her alive and growing.  I googled every five seconds, and in case you were unaware, Google is the devil.

But I also remembered some recipes I’d saved for this exact scenario, and so I went onto Pinterest and pulled up one for cookies and one for smoothies.  Now, I know that calling a lactation consultant would be the ‘smart’ thing to do, but since I was turned off by the lactation nurse who did not help me in the hospital, I decided to take matters into my own hands.  Because I know everything, of course.

Anyway…the main ingredient for any lactation recipe is brewer’s yeast, which I purchased for $12 at Whole Foods.  But you can also get it on Amazon for cheaper.  I bought this kind and I really like it!

Then I set to work.  I had most of the ingredients at home, which always makes things easier since I’m a grocery shopping spaz.  Seriously, when I have a list, it’s like I completely blank on which aisle holds which items. Inevitably, I’m back and forth across the store, people stare, and I sweat.

Moving on.  I decided on the smoothie since it was faster and easier, and my panic levels weren’t helping.  So I followed the recipe to the T, and sat down to enjoy. (In spite of my severe skepticism of the tastelessly gross ingredients, and BANANAS, which make me gag)

No offense to the creator of the smoothie, but I just could not stomach it.  It had such a bland taste, and since all I could concentrate on was the banana flavor, I decided to start over.

This time, I used some other lactation power foods(spinach, berries, and yogurt)and took out the banana, cocoa powder, almond butter, and sweetener, and tossed in some ice to slush it up.  It was great!

I’m not sure if it was my imagination or if it actually worked, but my supply seemed to multiply almost instantly, and I haven’t had a scare since.

During my research(I research everything, because you never know what you’re going to get), I also learned that brewer’s yeast is good for so much more.  I read that it is full of:

  • chromium(decreases blood sugar levels)
  • protein, selenium(antioxidants)
  • potassium
  • iron
  • zinc
  • magnesium(good for the heart and bones).

In other words, use this all the time!

When all is said and done, my smoothie was about 540 calories.  I used each ingredient at its serving size and loaded all the info into My Fitness Pal.

IMG_3004

My panic levels have gone down and Ava is eating and gaining perfectly fine.  Now if I can just get her to take a bottle…

Do you have any favorite recipes you use for a supply boost?  Feel free to share!

 

One thought on “Boobie Juice Smoothie

Leave a Reply

